- Address:Douglas County Clerk & Recorder
401 S. Center St.
P.O. Box 467
Tuscola, IL 61953
- Business Hours:Mon-Fri
8:30am - 4:30pm
The County Clerk issues Marriage Licenses and maintains all Vital Records in Douglas County, including Birth, Marriage and Death Records.
Recording of births begin in 1878. Prior to 1916, an index can be accessed to research names. Illinois did not require births to be recorded until 1916. From 1916 to the present, the records are accessible by request from the individual, spouse, or parents.
Recording of deaths begin in 1878. Prior to 1916, an index can be accessed to research names. Illinois did not require deaths to be recorded until 1916. From 1916 to the present, the records are accessible by request from the spouse, parents or executor of the estate. Approximately 200 deaths are recorded annually.
Marriage/Civil Union/Same Sex Records
Recording of marriage records begin in 1859. The early marriage records contain date, groom, bride and the official. Shortly after, marriage licenses include other vital information. Approximately 125 Marriage Licenses are issued annually.
A certified copy of Birth and Marriage Records will be issued for Genealogical interests if the document has been on file for at least 75 years. Death Records (20 years).
If you would like to search our records for genealogical purposes, please see the link under Useful Links on the bottom of this page.
Under Illinois State Law (410 ILCS 535-Vital Records Act) only specific individuals have legal access to birth, death, or marriage certificates. The Douglas County Clerk’s office will issue certificates to authorized individuals only. Vital Records are not considered public information, nor are they subject to the Freedom of Information Act.
How to request a copy of a birth, death, or marriage certificate.
You can come into our office between 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m., Monday through Friday. If you are not able to come in you can click on the Official Records Online link and it will take you to our online portal, where you can order what you need.
You can also print out the form and mail it to us with the required fee and documentation at Douglas County Clerk, 401 S. Center St., P.O. Box 467, Tuscola, IL 61953.
Certified copies of a Marriage/Civil Union license-$14 for the first one and $11 for each additional.
Certified copies of a Birth Record-$14 for the first one and $11 for each additional.
Certified copies of a Death Record-$18 for the first one and $15 for each additional.
Absolutely no information can be given over the telephone regarding any Vital Record.
NOTE: Any person who with the intention to deceive, willfully uses, or attempts to use any certified copy of a birth record, knowing that such certificate or certified copy was issued upon a record that is false in whole or in part or that relates to the birth of another person, is guilty of a Class 4 felony in the State of Illinois.
Obtaining a Marriage/Civil Union License
Where to Apply
Marriage/Civil Union Licenses are done by appointment only. To apply for your Marriage/Civil Union License, click on the APEX portal link. We take appointments between 10 a.m. and 4 p.m., Monday through Friday.
Qualifications for residents of the State of Illinois
In order to be married in Illinois without parental consent you must be at least 18 years of age. If you are 16 or 17 years of age, BOTH PARENTS must sign a parental consent form in the County Clerk’s Office at the time you apply for the license. You must get your license in the County you are getting married in.
Married by a Judge
If you wish to be married by a Judge, you may make your own arrangements prior to the ceremony by calling 217-253-4121 or 217-253-4967
Assumed Business Name
Information pertaining to Assumed Name Certificates:
- If someone fills out a 1040 tax form each year, an Assumed Name Certificate should be filed.
- If someone incorporates their business, Corporation or LLC, it is not necessary to file for an Assumed Name Certificate
- The information on the Assumed Name Certificate of Intention must be published in the legal section of the newspaper which is of general circulation within Douglas County. The first publication must be within 15 days after the certificate is filed in the office of the County Clerk. Once this is completed, be sure to provide the County Clerk’s office with the Proof of Publication. This proof must be filed within 50 days after the certificate is filed in the office of the County Clerk. Proof of Publication can be obtained from the newspaper that published the legal notice. After the Clerk’s office has received Proof of Publication, you will be provided a Certificate of Ownership of Business showing that your business is registered in accordance with the Illinois State Law.
You can apply for an Assumed Business Name using the link below or by calling our office at 217-253-2411 to set up an appointment. The fee for this is $24.
- There is no charge for filing a DD214.
- Those allowed to obtain a DD214 are: the Veteran, the Veteran’s family, or the Funeral Directors.
- There is no charge for requesting a DD214.
Schedule of Vital Record Fees
Effective January 1, 2019
|Additional Birth Certificates
|Marriage/ Civil Union License
|Additional Marriage Certificates
|Additional Death Certificates
|Assumed Business Name Certificate
|Change Name of Assumed Business Name
|Fees for Copies
|$1 / page